<div style="background-color: none transparent;"><a href="http://news.rsspump.com/" title="news">news</a></div>

ACM Online

The Association of Caribbean MediaWorkers is pleased to be able to maintain a web presence that features the latest ACM news updates, which keep members and supporters up-to-date with streaming media and online publications from 21 countries in the Hemisphere.

We are also pleased to announce that many of our future events can been seen live on the player above, and highlights of various events and activities will always be available in our archives.

Latest videos can be found here.

Statement on Mark Bassant

ACM, May 22, 2015


The Association of Caribbean MediaWorkers (ACM) is extremely concerned about a reported threat on the life of Trinidadian multi-media investigative journalist, Mark Bassant of the CCN Media Group.
The fact that Mr Bassant has been forced to seek protective refuge at an undisclosed location underscores the seriousness with which both his media institution and state security forces are treating the matter.
We join with the Media Association of Trinidad and Tobago in calling for urgent action to get to the bottom of this situation.
Our international partners are similarly concerned and we all look forward to a thorough and expeditious investigation and the prosecution of anyone found to be behind this threat.

Official Statement here

ACM in CSME talks

Antigua, January 17, 2013


Caribbean broadcasters assembled in Antigua on January 16 and 17 to explore progress with the Caricom Single Market and Economy.
The two-day workshop was planned by the Caricom Secretariat, together with the ACM, CBU and Carimac. Journalists participated in interactive sessions with trade and integration experts .
The ACM team was led by president, Clive Bacchus. Also in Antigua, the ACM executive met face-to-face during its first retreat.


Clive Bacchus leads the ACM

ACM, October 27, 2013


St Kitts and Nevis based journalist, Clive Bacchus is the new president of the Association of Caribbean MediaWorkers (ACM). Bacchus was elected at the 7th Biennial General Assembly of the organisation in Port of Spain, Trinidad on October 26. He will be supported by First Vice President, Peter Richards of Trinidad and Tobago and Second Vice President, Dr Canute James, of Jamaica

ACM Executive 2013


Full statement here.

The Declaration of Port of Spain

Port of Spain, June 23-26, 2012


IPIlogoCalling for the Abolition of ‘Insult Laws’ and Criminal Defamation Legislation in the Caribbean, and for the Support of Strong, Free and Independent Media. The members of the International Press Institute (IPI), meeting at their 61st Annual General Assembly during the IPI World Congress from 23 to 26 June, 2012 in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago,

Note that media outlets across the wider Caribbean may be subjected to a panoply of repressive measures, from jailing and persecution to the widespread scourge of ‘insult laws’ and criminal defamation, which are sometimes used by the powerful to prevent critical appraisal of their actions and to deprive the public of information about misdeeds,...

Full document here.

'Election Handbook' Launched as 'Practical Resource'

ACM Administrator


The ACM launches its Election Handbook for Caribbean Journalists to critical acclaim in both international and regional fora and has been designed by journalists for journalists.

The handbook was researched, written and designed by the Association of Caribbean MediaWorkers (ACM) with support from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), the International Freedom of Expression Exchange (IFEX), Eugenio Maria de Hostos Law School, Puerto Rico, the Austin Forum of the Knight Centre for Journalism in the Americas, and the United Nations Information Centre for the Caribbean Area.

The publication is meant to serve as a practical resource in equipping journalists to meet public and professional expectations for superior election coverage.

The editorial team was led by Lennox Grant and Wesley Gibbings and included: Peter Richards, Vernon Daley, Raoul Pantin, Naylan Dwarika, Sheila Velez Martinez and Tony Deyal.