About the ACM


The Association of Caribbean MediaWorkers (ACM) is a network of journalists,Wesley Gibbings media workers and media associations spanning the Caribbean Basin.

It was established in Barbados in 2001 and is currently headquartered in Trinidad and Tobago, under serving President Wesley Gibbings.

Its membership includes media professionals and their representative organisations from countries of the Caribbean Community CARICOM) and the Dutch, Spanish and French-speaking Caribbean.

It holds membership of the Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD) and the International Freedom of Expression Exchange (IFEX) and is represented on the Latin American and Caribbean Forum for Media Development.

The ACM has also been responsible for the publication of bi-annual State of the Caribbean Media Reports and a Handbook for Caribbean Journalists on Climate Change.

The ACM was established to:

  • Collaborate with national media associations and related organisations in promoting professional and ethical standards, safeguarding and promoting the rights and privileges of the media in all Caribbean countries
  • Respect and promote freedom of information, media freedom, and the independence of journalism
  • Encourage the formation and strengthening of national groupings and associations
  • Maintain and improve the professional status of its members and member associations
  • Protect and advance the interests of journalists and media workers at the national and regional levels
  • Facilitate the exchange of information about the media in the region
  • Undertake educational programmes for the furtherance of the professional skills of journalists and media workers in the Caribbean region
  • Promote greater understanding of media issues through research, seminars, and conferences
  • Promote co-operation and collaboration among members